FMH Philipsburg

PHILIPSBURG

PHIIPSBURG WAS FOUNDED IN 1797, THE BOROUGH WAS ORIGINALLY NAMED MUSHANNON MEANING ‘BLACK WATER’. FOUNDER HENRY PHILIPS PURCHASED 350,000 ACRES OF LAND AT AUCTION FOR $173,000, OR ABOUT TWO CENTS PER ACRE. LOCATED ALONG MOSHANNON CREEK, THE AREA OFFERED FLOOD PROTECTION DUE TO IT’S ELEVATION AND ACCESS TO THE RICH FORESTS OF THE ALLEGHENY MOUNTAINS. PHILIPSBURG ORIGINALLY GREW AROUND THE LUMBER INDUSTRY, BEFORE TRANSITIONING TO COAL MINING FOR DOMESTIC AND INDUSTRIAL USE. TODAY, MORE THAN 3,100 PEOPLE CALL PHILIPSBURG HOME – AND TWO LOCAL GROUPS, THE MOSHANNON VALLEY ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT PARTNERSHIP AND THE PHILIPSBURG REVITALIZATION CORPORTATION ARE WORKING TO GROW AND SUSTAIN THE AREA’S ECONOMY. EVERY SUMMER, PHILIPSBURG HOSTS ‘PHILIPSBURG HERITAGE DAYS,’ WHICH DRAWS MORE THAN 12,000 PEOPLE TO THE COMMUNITY. VISITORS CAN ALSO TAKE PART IN SEVERAL WALKING TOURS, WITH STOPS AT THE UNION, OR ‘OLD MUD’ CHURCH, THE SIMLER HOUSE, PHILIPSBURG’S OLDEST KNOW STRUCTURE, AND THE HISTORIC ROWLAND THEATRE, WHICH WAS COMPLETED IN 1917.

*(Information sourced from: The Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, Philipsburg Borough Mayor John Streno, and The Happy Valley Adventure Bureau)

Entitlement Sponsor

Community Sponsors