Some States Are Pushing For Daylight Saving Time To Be Permanent

Changing clocks twice a year can be annoying.

As we get ready to “fall back” this weekend, six states are proposing making Daylight Saving Time permanent. Daylight saving time was first enacted by the federal government during World War I as a way to conserve coal. In the last four years, a total of 19 states have enacted or passed legislation to keep DST around.

The catch in most cases is Congress has to make a move, which they haven’t. Here are the states that love DST:

  • Alabama
  • Georgia
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Idaho
  • Louisiana
  • Ohio
  • South Carolina
  • Utah
  • Wyoming
  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Maine
  • Oregon
  • Tennessee
  • Washington
  • Florida
  • California