And the votes are in…

Donald Trump defied just about every poll in the universe, winning battleground states like Florida, North Carolina, and Ohio . . . and flipping a bunch of states that weren’t supposed to go his way, like Wisconsin and Pennsylvania.

Not all the states were called last night, because it was so close.  But as of this morning, Trump won 288 electoral votes . . . putting him easily over 270 . . . and Clinton won 218.  And the final tally for Trump could be even higher.

Hillary Clinton didn’t give a concession speech . . . around 2:00 A.M., before the election was called, her campaign chair told her supporters to GO HOME.  But she DID call Trump to concede, a little before 3:00 A.M.

In his victory speech, Trump struck a more presidential tone, and started by thanking Clinton for her years of government service.

Quote, “Hillary has worked very long and very hard over a long period of time, and we owe her a major debt of gratitude for her service to our country.  I mean that very sincerely.”  And this might surprise some people, but his supporters CHEERED.

He continued, quote, “Now it is time for America to bind the wounds of division . . . to all Republicans and Democrats and independents across this nation, I say it is time for us to come together as one united people.”

“I pledge to every citizen of our land that I will be president for all of Americans . . . for those who have chosen not to support me in the past, of which there were a few people, I’m reaching out to you for your guidance and your help so that we can work together and unify our great country.”

The states Trump took were:  Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

Hillary got:  California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, D.C., Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, and Washington.